Wednesday 26th July 2023 Race Report

Penny Abbott

Teatime Tankard 7

For the first time in weeks the wind was coming over the Dam from the southwest. That meant the start, from the nearside line to Dam Green, was a proper beat. Boats needed to point high and start from off the end of the pontoon to make the first buoy in one tack. There were three Bosuns in the race. Adam Hilton’s, with visitor Celia Braund as crew, was the first to round Dam Green with John Dabbs second (crew Leila Farmer) and then Roger Heasman (crew Rick Thurlow). Geoff Floyd’s Solo was in the mix, going through the Bosuns and finishing the first lap in first place. The return from Pinkie via West White involved a lot more tacking with many changes of place, callings of starboard and other excitements. Dave Perrett had chosen a small sail for his Solo to protect his recovering arm and, in wind strengths less than the force 3 gusting 5 forecast, did not really have the speed to keep up but managed to finish the two laps in fourth on the water. Visitor Silas Braund, in a Club Topper, toured in sixth and Wendy Thurlow in her Laser 4.7, after a delayed start, brought up the rear.

  1. John Dabbs and Leila Farmer (Bosun)
  2. Silas Braund (Topper)
  3. Geoff Floyd (Solo)
  4. Roger Heasman and Rick Thurlow (Bosun)
  5. Dave Perrett (Solo)
  6. Wendy Thurlow (Laser 4.7)

Retired: (missed buoy) Adam Hilton and Celia Braund (Bosun)


Roger’s Bosuns 2

Dave Perret’s Solo and Adam Hilton’s Bosun were the first to start and to round Dam Green but were again overwhelmed by the other Bosuns and Geoff Floyd’s Solo. Geoff was at the front at the end of each subsequent lap but not necessarily around every buoy in between. The Heasman Bosun was ahead of Leila Farmer, now helming the Dabbs boat, for most of the first lap but not subsequently. Silas Braund kept his Topper in front of Wendy Thurlow’s Laser 4.7. Helms Adam Hilton (again) and Wendy Thurlow missed buoys and did not feature in the results.


  1. Leila Farmer and John Dabbs (Bosun)
  2. Roger Heasman and Rick Thurlow (Bosun)

Disqualified: Adam Hilton and Celia Braund (Bosun)


  1. Silas Braund (Topper)
  2. Geoff Floyd (Solo)
  3. Dave Perrett (Solo)

Disqualified: Wendy Thurlow (Laser 4.7)

Grateful thanks were given to Penny Abbott who, as Officer of the Day, ran the races.