Wednesday 6th September 2023 Race Report

by Adam Hilton

Geoff Floyd

Teacake 4

It was hot and what winds there were came over the Devon shore from points between southeast and northeast. Basically it was a race for Bosuns and Solos, if one can include Rob Spiller’s Streaker as an honorary Solo; there were three of each.

The Solo of Adam Hilton got away first, was first around Dam Green but threw it all away by very nearly forgetting to leave Home 1 to port. Roger Heasman’s Bosun, Nessy crewing, Robin Spiller’s Streaker and Dave Perrett’s Solo all got past. The single-handers took control; Dave Perrett leading at the end of the first lap with Robin Spiller second.  The Hilton Solo overtook Robin Spiller on the second lap and Dave Perrett’s Solo on the third, helped by an evil Lake spirit which did not allow Dave to beat between West White and Home 2 with any dispatch. The course went no further north than the middle of the Lake and so laps were short; even so, three laps took the winner forty minutes. Also unusual was that the handicap system thought the results on the water were the right ones. And so the three single-handers beat the three double-handers.

  1. Adam Hilton (Solo)
  2. Dave Perrett (Solo)
  3. Robin Spiller (Streaker)
  4. Roger Heasman and Nessy (Bosun)
  5. John Dabbs and Leila Farmer (Bosun)
  6. Rick Thurlow and Penny Abbott (Bosun)


Summer Fruits 3

The sailing programme envisaged no second race but management conjured up this Summer Fruits race, competing for the rosewood bowl that Roger Heasman presented. Dave Perret was first away this time followed by Penny Abbott, now helming the Club Bosun with Rick Thurlow as crew. Adam Hilton was next, the Solo pointing high and already making up ground; he led at the end of the first lap and from then on. Dave Perrett lost his lead, he was down to fourth at the end of Lap 1, and was having his usual trouble getting from West White to Home 2 at a reasonable speed. John Dabbs got his Bosun past Penny’s on the second lap and finished in third place, only a minute and a half behind the leader. The handicap gave him victory.

  1. John Dabbs and Leila Farmer (Bosun)
  2. Adam Hilton (Solo)
  3. Penny Abbott and Rick Thurlow (Bosun)
  4. Dave Perrett (Solo)
  5. Louise and Colin Witchell (Bosun)
  6. Nessy and Roger Heasman (Bosun)

Many thanks to Geoff Floyd who ran the races and took the photos.